h1

Dreaming, Gospel Style

May 25, 2011

I have been thinking about contentment recently. Probably because being content is one of my biggest challenges. My wife Amy says that I have a grass is greener problem. I dream too big, too much. I need to be more realistic with what I long for. It’s hard, though, when there are so many things that I would love to have in my life! I want to go back to school and get my Master’s in Architecture. I want to work in a design firm where people are NOT treated like cattle. I want to own an architecture firm designing beautiful houses for wonderful clients. I want to wake up every morning and go to work saying, ‘I can’t believe I get paid to do this!’ All of these things are good, yet none are a reality right now. What does this tell you? I have a major work/success idol.

I have rebelled against contentment mainly because I have seen it as a requirement to take your dreams and stick them in the back of your closet, in the box with your high school yearbook and you stuffed animal from way back when. The thought of doing that makes my brain numb. Recently I have been coming to a different conclusion. In his sermon Sunday our pastor said “The worst thing that God could do to a person is give him exactly what he wants.” This struck a nerve. God wants to give us the best that he has, and that best is Himself. And he gave that to us in his Son. So how could God giving us our deepest desire be a good thing, unless that deepest desire is Him?

So I am praying for a different perspective. I want to recenter my deepest desire on the only thing that truly fulfills all I could ever need and more. In doing so, the strangest thing happens. When I let go of my dreams as being the thing that satisfies me, I GAIN the freedom to dream even bigger than before! If I long for something good, like an architecture firm, and I don’t get it, but I have God, how is that a loss? I have a God who loves me! I am now able to dream for the stars, because I already have the maker of those stars.

Now to remind myself of that daily….

Leave a Reply

